Writer Wednesday: Five Reasons Why Eli Greene Is the Absolute Worst by Chloe Pierce aka Kristina Forest (+INTL Giveaway!)

If I had to pick the cutest Writer Wednesday post of the year, this would be it.

I Wanna Be Where You Are is one of my favorite reads of 2019. It was such a precious and fun reading experience, and totally made my day with its light and fluffy story and adorable couple. (See below!)

If you like the sound of dancers, road trips, oh-no-there’s-only-one-bed trope, childhood best friends to enemies to lovers, YOU NEED TO PICK THIS UP.

It is very close to being the purest thing in the entire world, and you’ll see in a minute why I love this so much.

So, today I have Chloe Pierce (kindly transcribed by the wonderful author, Kristina Forest) on my blog today talking all about why she despises Eli Greene.

It’s sure to be spicy. Plus, stay tuned for an INTL giveaway!

divider

Five Reasons Why Eli Greene is the Absolute Worst

by Chloe Pierce

Let me be the first to say that I am aware that people find Eli Greene “charming.” He’s more or less attractive. He’s tall. He’s funny (if you’re into his humor, which I’m not). Am I surprised that Eli has people eating out of the palm of his hand? No, not in the slightest. Actually, I used to be one of those people, but I’ve smartened up. Here’s the thing: nobody knows Eli the way that I do. We’ve been in each other’s lives since we were babies. We grew up right across the street from each other. That means I know pretty much everything there is to know about him. And today, I’m here to tell you exactly why you shouldn’t, under any circumstances, crush on Eli Greene.

1)      When I was five years old and he was six, he convinced me that my house was haunted. Our moms are best friends, which means were forced to hang out with each other for half of our childhood. One day, while we were sitting on my front porch, he decided to tell me the story of the old woman who died in my bedroom, who also haunted our block at night. He said sometimes when he looked across the street, he could see her standing in my bedroom window! Of course, I freaked out and ran to tell my mom. Eli’s mom, Ms. Linda, was so upset with him, she grounded him right there on the spot, and he couldn’t have any ice cream after dinner. That part made me happy.

2)      I stuck my hand in a thorn bush for him. When I was eleven and he was twelve, he told me he accidentally dropped his house keys in the thorn bush in front of his house. He said he couldn’t reach them, but asked if I could because my arms were skinnier. I stared at the thorn bush and thought about how I’d probably get a bunch of scars. But I saw this situation for what it was: Eli was challenging me. He thought I’d chicken out. So, I proved him wrong. I dove my hand right into the bush, just for him to shout that he was only joking! I jerked my arm away so quickly that I got a nasty cut on the forearm. He looked really guilty about it, but I know that’s just an act. Eli doesn’t ever feel guilty about anything.

3)      He tricked me on the first day of freshman year. I have one best friend named Reina, and she’s been my only best friend since the eighth grade. So, going into high school, I didn’t really know anyone, except for Eli, of course. He was already a sophomore, and he knew the ropes. It’s not like I was expecting him to take me under his wing and introduce me to all of his friends, or anything. We’d already started to grow apart the previous year once he started high school. I just expected him to at least be nice to me. Instead, he tricked me into believing that the freshmen had a completely different cafeteria than the rest of the upperclassmen. He pointed me in the opposite direction of the actual cafeteria, and I missed half of lunch looking for the freshmen cafeteria that didn’t even exist! He thought it was hilarious, of course.

4)      He smokes. Does this really need more of an explanation? Just close your eyes and picture his blackened lungs and or how the smell of tobacco sticks to his clothes. Do not picture the way he leans all cool-like and stares at you through his thick lashes while he’s smoking. That will only make you crush on him harder. Trust me, I speak from experience.

5)      He’s a liar. In any relationship, be it romantic or platonic, honesty is really important. Maybe you’ve found that you can overlook the above points and still fall for Eli anyway. But you should know that he will make promises and break them. And once those promises are broken, he’ll never say sorry. And the worst part is that he won’t even care. This is what will hurt you the most. A year and a half ago, he did something unforgivable to me, and he still hasn’t apologized. In fact, we haven’t said one word to each other since. And I thought it would stay that way forever. That is until he decided to highjack my dance audition road trip and bring along his old, stinky dog. It’s a good thing I know all the reasons why he’s the absolute worst. There’s a zero percent chance that I will fall for him again… Right? 

divider

me: dying because I love Chloe Pierce so much

Doesn’t she have such an entertaining voice? I really can’t wait for y’all to read I Wanna Be Where You Are and swoon with me about how adorable this book is!

Chloe totally hates this Eli kid . . . right? I mean, she wrote this whole essay about why she dislikes him. So obviously, he’s pretty not great.

I wonder where this will lead them . . .

More About the Book

36408450

I Wanna Be Where You Are by Kristina Forest
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published June 4th 2019 by Roaring Brook Press

“In a world where it’s easy to lose faith in love, I WANNA BE WHERE YOU ARE is a brilliant burst of light. A dazzling debut.” ― Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out

When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe’s mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe’s chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast―two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butterflies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat.

Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository

More About the Author

Kristina Forest loves to dance and thought one day she’d be a choreographer. But then she decided she loved writing more. She earned her MFA in Creative Writing with a concentration in Writing for Children at The New School. She lives in Brooklyn, New York with two huge bookshelves. I WANNA BE WHERE YOU ARE is her first novel.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Photo Credit: Fierce Reads

Giveaway!

Y’all are in luck!

And when I say luck, I don’t mean “being forced to go on an impromptu road trip with your ex-best-friend and mortal enemy, as well as his stinky dog”!

I mean, one lucky winner will receive a hardcover copy of I Wanna Be Where You Are! Just enter through the Rafflecopter button below. And, it’s open internationally!

Good luck, and I sincerely hope the dog/enemy situation doesn’t happen to you. Maybe. It might just turn out okay.

(More entries on Twitter, ends next Wednesday at midnight!)

HEY DID YOU LOVE CHLOE PIERCE? Are you excited for I Wanna Be Where You Are?

21 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Five Reasons Why Eli Greene Is the Absolute Worst by Chloe Pierce aka Kristina Forest (+INTL Giveaway!)

  1. I love, love Chloe’s voice and hers sounds exactly like my favorite in both YA and middle grade. Thanks for the fun post today!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG YAY THAT’S AMAZING!!! I hope they do buy the eBook, because I’d love to know your thoughts! ❤

      Like

    1. I KNOW

      He’s kind of the worst but also…..that painting of them…..SO CUTE UGH

      Yes! I hope you get a chance to pick it up, Harker, it’s honestly super adorable ah

      Like

  2. The cover for this one is initially what caught my attention, but now over the last few days I’ve read some rave reviews about what a great rom-com it is, and that is totally what I’m in the mood to read, so I’m excited to give this one a try at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.