5 Things to Do If You’ve Witnessed a Murder: Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

I am so excited to bring a super fun post inspired by one of my most anticipated releases, Four Dead Queens, to you today!

I’ve read the book and it’s AWESOME with its murder mystery in a fictional setting (my review will go up tomorrow on the blog) and I am so excited to talk a little bit about the premise and how Keralie deals with learning about a conspiracy that leaves all four of Quadara’s queens dead . . .

I’ve sorted myself into Eonia, the science-oriented, cold, northern quadrant led by Queen Corra! There’s a lot of interesting things going on in my quadrant, as although there’s lots of technology, it’s also really cold and the concept of death days is unfortunately real.

But moving on. In honor of Four Dead Queens, I’ve decided to write up a little something, namely:

*cue gasps*

Yup, that’s right! Inspired by Scholte’s debut, I’m talking a little bit about what you should do and what the main character Keralie does (no spoilers, though!) when she witnesses the murders of all four of Quadara’s queens!

I won’t bore you with more intros, I promise, so let’s just dive right in!

1. Do Something Rash. (Uh oh!)

Okay, so if you’re witnessing a murder, you’re probably in a very stressful situation. Because, well, murder in all of it’s shocking, real-life glory. Scary.

And in moments like these, people have a fight-or-flight response (triggered by the release of hormones norepinephrine and epinephrine from the adrenal medulla, per my anatomy test today) that leads them to decide on what to do.

And honestly? None of those are really good options. Especially if you’re cornered by people who have betrayed you, like Keralie is in Four Dead Queens. (Uh oh x2) Yeah. Things get really spicy.

2. Undress. (Say what?!)

If you just so happen to have, I don’t know, jumped out of a high window into the ocean to flee, all while wearing a corset and dress, it might be helpful to take some of that off so you don’t drown.

Y’know. If you were in that situation.

And it doesn’t hurt if there’s a nice love interest who’s got their arms around you, cutting off your corset . . .

Probably not the way you thought you’d be undressing together, though.

Or, for the general population, make yourself comfortable! Give yourself the time and space you need to adjust to what you just saw. It’s probably more than a bit traumatizing.

3. Inform the Authorities . . . Unless You Can’t

Keralie sees the death of each of Quadara’s four queens. It’s more than a little scary, because not only is it more than one murder, but it’s also people she’s seen before and respect and know are vital to the function of her society.

So it’d be in her best interests to tell someone . . . right?

Well, yes and no. Unfortunately, if your witness is valuable to someone, and that someone has the authorities under their thumb, there’s not a lot of places to go.

But, if you ever see a real murder, definitely tell the authorities. Unless you happen to be extraordinarily qualified as a thief and liar, like Keralie. (Aka please tell someone.)

4. Figure Things Out for Yourself (Hopefully)

Whether you’re in the position where you’ve just got some trauma that you need to work through (definitely recommend finding a therapist to help!), or you’re like Keralie and finding out the truth yourself is the only option you have, figuring things out is a great next step.

Different than (2), making yourself comfortable, this is a way to help you move on from the traumatic experience. It’s scary. You have all the right to be frightened and feel ~things~.

And although you’ll probably be changed, you can move forward. I believe in you. 💕

5. Cross Your Fingers You Don’t Die

Not gonna lie, being a witness can be scary sometimes, especially when you’ve witnessed something with a far greater reach than just a single murder of passion.

Throughout the twelve years a witness protection program was established in Colorado, 12 witnesses have died from causes related to what the witnessed, and more than 2,000 cases were said to be tampered with.

Scary stuff.

And Keralie, although not in Colorado, has a pretty penny on her neck as she fends off multiple groups of people from obscuring the truth from her.

But truly, if you’re in a situation like this, seek legal counsel and obey the authorities. And also hope for the best, even if your best is “not dying.”

MORE ABOUT THE BOOK

34213319

Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte
Hardcover, 432 pages
February 26th 2019 by Putnam

An enthralling and beguiling murder mystery fantasy perfect for fans of Red Queen and Three Dark Crowns

Keralie Corrington is a talented pickpocket in the kingdom of Quadara. She steals under the guidance of her mentor Mackiel, who runs a black market selling their bounty to buyers desperate for what they can’t get in their own quadrant. For Quadara is a nation divided into four regions, each strictly separated from the other. Toria, the intellectual quadrant values education and ambition. Ludia, the pleasure quadrant values celebration and passion. Archia, the agricultural quadrant, values simplicity and nature. Eonia, the futurist quadrant values technology, stoicism and harmonious community. Four queens, one from each quadrant, rule as one. 

When on Mackiel’s orders Keralie steals a particularly valuable item from a messenger, what seems like a routine theft goes horribly wrong. Keralie discovers she’s intercepted instructions to murder the queens. Hoping that discovering the intended recipient will reveal the culprit–valuable information that she can barter with–Keralie teams up with Varin Bollt, the messenger she stole from, to complete his delivery and uncover the would-be murderer. But with Keralie and Varin each keeping secrets–and the lives of the queens hanging in the balance–everything is at stake, and no one can be trusted.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository

MORE ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Astrid Scholte’s fascination with all things fantasy began at the impressionable age of one while on a family vacation to Disneyland. Her desire to be surrounded by all things magical led her to a career in animation and visual effects. She received Honors in BA (Film, Media and Theater) and a Bachelor of Digital Media from the University of NSW. She’s spent the last 10 years working in visual effects production as both an artist and an artist manager. Career highlights include working on James Cameron’s AVATAR, Steven Spielberg’s THE ADVENTURES OF TIN TIN and HAPPY FEET 2 by George Miller. She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her cats Lilo and Mickey. FOUR DEAD QUEENS is her debut novel.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

TOUR SCHEDULE

Week One: Archia

February 4 – Cayla Reads – Creative Instagram Picture + Favorite Quotes
February 5 – My Friends are Fiction – Creative Instagram Picture
February 6 – It’s Just About Write – Interview
February 7 – love.books.and.coffee – Creative Instagram Picture
February 8 – BookCrushin – Creative Post

Week Two: Ludia

February 11 – Alexa Loves Books – A Gift Guide for each Kingdom
February 12 – Dark faerie tales – Creative Instagram Picture
February 13 – The Fandom – Author Guest Post
February 14 – Don’t Go Brekker My Heart – Favorite Quotes + Creative Post
February 15 – A Court of Crowns and Quills – Review

Week Three: Eonia

February 18 – Life in Lit – Creative Instagram Picture
February 19 – The Book Unicorns – Creative Instagram Picture
February 20 – Xenatine – Creative Instagram Picture
February 21 – Book Is Glee – Creative Instagram Picture
February 22 – Vicky Who Reads – 5 Things to Do If You’ve Witnessed a Murder – YOU ARE HERE!

Week Four: Toria

February 25 – Book Briefs – Review + Creative Instagram Picture
February 26 – That’s Normal – Review + Moodboard
February 27 – Brittany’s Book Rambles – Author Guest Post
February 28 – Read Forevermore – Creative Instagram Picture
March 1 – YA Books Central – Author Guest Post

How would you react to seeing a murder?

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “5 Things to Do If You’ve Witnessed a Murder: Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

    1. me: *prepares underground bunker full of supplies after I go into hiding and am somehow framed*
      someone needs to write a 5 things to do once you’ve been wrecked by this book list because AHH

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.