If You Liked #12: Mental Health Awareness Edition!

Can you believe it’s been a whole year since I started the If You Liked feature on my blog? It’s been crazy but I’ve loved writing these book recs and also have loved all your feedback!

It is so wonderful to find that these recommendations were (a) enjoyable (b) helpful (c) literally anything else and it’s made me so happy to send people on the track of finding another book they’ve loved!

Here’s to another year of If You Liked posts! 🎉 You can find the whole archive here, as well as the very first If You Liked post which I created on a whim!

Anyways, this week is all about book recommendations for books about mental health! I’ve been extremely negligent in promoting the Mental Health Book Bingo that has been taking place (and has almost ended) in January, but I still think it’s important to boost these reads, so here I am with some awesome recs!

All of the “love” books have rep in them, and a couple of the “like” books do as well! (Discover which with the help of an *) I hope you give some of these a shot, and the recommendations work both ways!

If you liked Wintersong*, then you’ll love For a Muse of Fire*!

I mean, besides the obvious fact that both of these portray bipolar rep in a fantasy setting, they’re both really lush and have wonderful worldbuilding and I think readers of one will like the other!

I haven’t read For a Muse of Fire yet (I own it + am buddy reading it next month!) but I’m excited to start! The biracial and bipolar and queer rep sounds so interesting and THAT COVER AHH. I can’t wait to pick it up.

And Wintersong is always one of my favorites–so beautiful and haunting. These books may look like fire and ice, but I feel like at the core they’re very similar, and you should definitely check out one if you liked the other!

Read my review of Shadowsong (Wintersong #2) here!

If you liked Queens of Geek*, then you’ll love Kat and Meg Conquer the World*!

I admit that I still haven’t read the finished version of Queens of Geek, but the Wattpad version was amazing and I need to obtain a FC sometime! I loved the anxiety rep in this and the friendships and romance were so pure?

And Kat and Meg Conquer the World was like the geeky female friendship book OF MY DREAMS (plus, ADHD and anxiety rep!!!) and I loved it so much? Not only do these books have a lot of similarities just conceptually (and wow, I love anything geeky) but they’re also very heartwarming and similar in the way that they’re not *too* romanced focused and it’s got so many amazing friendship themes!

If you liked The Dead Queens Club, then you’ll love Nice Try, Jane Sinner*!

THE HUMOR. If you’re someone who likes that sort of dry, witty humor that’s just amazing and hilarious and very hard to come by, well, check these out!

You all probably know just how much I love Hannah Capin’s The Dead Queens Club (and my interview w/ Hannah has a giveaway that ends tonight!) and the humor in it, and last year I also adored Lianne Oelke’s play-style college YA novel, Nice Try, Jane Sinner.

Not only is Jane Sinner the dry and witty protagonist of my dreams, but the depression rep is awesome and this book is just so darn funny with its college TV show plot.

You can read my review of The Dead Queens Club here and my review of Nice Try, Jane Sinner here!

If you liked The Loneliest Girl in the Universe, then you’ll love We Are the Ants*!

Yay for science fiction! I love love love Shaun David Hutchinson’s We Are the Ants (even though it took me 3 tries to get into, it was so worth sticking with) and the depression rep is awesome as well as the queer rep and y’know what? This entire book is amazing (all of Hutchinson’s books, honestly).

And it’s got ~interesting things~ happening because the main character is taken away from his bed each night to go with the aliens and it’s part of this sort of mystery? And I feel like the “big giant mystery in sci-fi” idea is really in line with Lauren E. James’ The Loneliest Girl in the Universe (which is another book I own but have not read).

So yes! Check out We Are the Ants and all of Hutchinson’s work! Everything he writes is so great.

If you liked Before She Ignites*, then you’ll love The Weight of Our Sky*!

Besides the fact that both of these wonderful books portray OCD or similar disorders in non-traditional (aka non-contemporary) settings, they’re both just really emotional?

Like, Mira is going through a lot of stuff in Before She Ignites (she’s in prison for . . . a long time) and y’know who else is going through big, stressful things? Melati from The Weight of Our Sky. Melati is separated from her mom and there are riots and the city is on fire and she is Stressed Out.

Both of these books are really hard-hitting at times but still very engaging and I loved both of these stories a lot. I so recommend you pick them up, because these are some of the strongest female protagonists I know of.

You can read my review of As She Ascends (Before She Ignites #2) here!

(Also, you might be saying “didn’t you recommend TWOOS in your last If You Liked?” and my answer is yes, yes I did.)

What books with mental health rep would you recommend?

Two I didn’t get to shout out are Paula Stokes’ Girl Against the Universe and Tamara Ireland Stone’s Every Last Word which I feel go really well together! Also, The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan and Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram!

Advertisements

21 thoughts on “If You Liked #12: Mental Health Awareness Edition!

  1. I love these recommendations so, so much Vicky, thank you for doing this kind of post! I can’t wait to read For A Muse of Fire, it sounds like such a great book. I also soooooo want to read Jane Sinner so I’ll definitely follow your recommendation for that one, your screaming and enthusiasm about The Dead Queens Club makes me want to read it A LOT 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. awww, of course, Maire!!!! And yes omg I am excited for Muse and YOU HAVE TO READ JANE SINNER!!! it is so dry and witty + college ya and I love it a Lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. NICE. Thank you for this! For some reason, I never even thought it would be possible to find YA that has bipolar representation. I think I’ll have to check out ALL of these at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve yet to read any of these books, but I have been wanting to read more mental health related stories so thank you for this list! The ones I can think of that I can comfortably recommend are Heart Berries (memoir) and The Place Between Breaths (YA, about schizophrenia).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahhh, well it’s never too late to start on them, and I hope you enjoy if you do! and I will defintiely check those out–I think someone else recommended The Place Between Breaths so fingers crossed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.