The Color of Lies Blog Tour: Review & Giveaway!

Hi! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for C.J. Lyons’ The Color of Lies!

Today I’ve got both my review and a giveaway where five lucky winners will receive a finished copy of The Color of Lies!

This is a complex murder mystery about a girl, Ella, with synesthesia who learns that her family’s death in a fire wasn’t actually an accident. With the help of a Alec, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist, Ella searches for the truth to find a killer.

I definitely enjoyed reading and would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys contemporary mystery thriller novels with a hint of romance! Now, onto my review:

f3.5

3.5 stars

I’ve had a great year reading mysteries so far, and The Color of Lies did not disappoint with how it built up the backstory of Ella and her parents’ death.

adored reading about Ella and her family and their synesthesia, and it was really cool to read about the colors Ella saw and how she interpreted them, as well as her grandmother’s feeling sounds and her uncle’s reaction to certain words that became tastes (like, apparently ‘sugar’ had a bad taste for him!). I don’t know that much about synesthesia and thought it was only limited to colors, but now that I know I definitely want to research more about it because it sounds really cool.

Plus, the twistiness of the story was top notch, and I think Lyons plotted some of the confusion and the mystery out well, especially as Ella begins to doubt who she should trust and if the people in her life–the people who have been raising her–were lying.

This was probably the highlight of the book, and the part I would recommend the most to anyone who’s interested in this book–read it for the twists and mystery!

I did find the romance to be somewhat cumbersome–although I thought they were cute, I didn’t really feel like Ella should be in a relationship when she’s going through so much emotionally and it felt a little instalove-like. But Ella and Alec were cute together and I loved reading their different point of views.

This story is told in two points of view, Ella and Alec’s, although Ella’s is much more dominant and we see a lot of the story from her side. It felt pretty traditional in its male/female POV structure, and I kind of wish Lyons had switched it up a little to something less structured.

I do feel like I just won’t remember this story much outside of the synesthesia. I just didn’t feel connected enough with the story outside of the time I was reading to really grasp the long-term effects of this. But not every book is meant to be a stick-with-you-forever book, and I think The Color of Lies is great for just a relaxing read.

Overall, The Color of Lies was an interesting mystery read that was well-written and something I ended up having a positive experience with, even if it didn’t turn out to be that memorable for me. I’d recommend to fans of mystery and thriller based on twists more than action, and anyone who likes a little dash of romance in their books too.

More About the Book

38915785The Color of Lies by C.J. Lyons
Publisher: BLINK
Release Date: November 6, 2018
Genre: Young Adult – Mystery, Thriller

High school senior Ella Cleary has always been good at reading people. Her family has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses—her Gram Helen sees every sound, and her uncle Joe can literally taste words. Ella’s own synesthesia manifests itself as the ability to see colors that reveal people’s true emotions…until she meets a guy she just can’t read.

Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life. That is, until he reveals the real reason why he sought her out—he wants to learn the truth behind her parents’ deaths, the parents that Ella had always been told died in a fire. Alec turns Ella’s world upside down when he tells her their deaths were definitely not an accident.

After learning her entire life has been a lie, Ella doesn’t know who she can trust or even who she really is. With her adoptive family keeping secrets and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer.

Perfect for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, Ally Carter, and Jennifer Brown, The Color of Lies blurs the lines between black-and-white facts and the kaleidoscope of reality.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indie Bound

More About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over forty novels, former pediatric ER doctor C.J. Lyons has lived the life she writes about in her cutting edge Thrillers with Heart.

Two times winner of the International Thriller Writers coveted Thriller Award, CJ has been called a “master within the genre” (Pittsburgh Magazine) and her work has been praised as “breathtakingly fast-paced” and “riveting” (Publishers Weekly) with “characters with beating hearts and three dimensions” (Newsday).

Learn more about CJ’s Thrillers with Heart at www.CJLyons.net

Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Website

Giveaway!

Want to try your luck at winning a copy of The Color of Lies? Then enter the giveaway through the Rafflecopter button below where 5 lucky winners will receive a finished copy of The Color of Lies! (US only) Or, you can guarantee yourself a copy by using one of the buy links in the “More About the Book” section!

90178-rafflecopter-logo-social-media-contest1

Thank you so much to The Fantastic Flying Book Club and BLINK/Harper Collins for sending me an advance reader’s copy in exchange for an honest review! Don’t forget to check out the rest of the tour stops below!

8a0fa-header2bsml

November 5

That Artsy Reader Girl – Welcome Interview

November 6

Boston Book Reader – Review
808bookdr – Review & Favorite Quotes, Exclusive Giveaway

November 7

Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile – Review
A Dream Within a Dream – Review
Rhythmicbooktrovert – Review

November 8

LILbooKlovers – Author Q&A
Savings In Seconds – Review
Bri’s Book Nook – Review

November 9

Colleen’s Conclusions – Author Guest Post
Vicky Who Reads – Review
Paper Reader – Review

November 10

Another Book In the Wall – Review & Favorite Quotes
Here’s to Happy Endings – Review & Favorite Quotes
Resch Reads and Reviews – Review

November 11

Lisa Loves Literature – Review
Smada’s Book Smack – Author Guest Post
Eli to the nth – Review & Favorite Quotes
Amy’s Booket List – Review
Port Jericho – Review

much love, vicky

Have you ever read a novel featuring a main character with synesthesia? Are you excited to read The Color of Lies?

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “The Color of Lies Blog Tour: Review & Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s