If You Liked #9: Spooky Edition!

It’s the spookiest month of the year, and today I’m bringing you a wide range of Halloween novels–from witchy to chilling to bloody.

These are sure to suit your every taste–whether you do or do not like horror–and provide a large variety of awesome book recommendations based on novels you already know and love!

From spooky islands to infected people to devils and witches and mysterious households galore, you’ll be able to find a perfect read to get you in the mood for this month’s spooky nature!

Without further ado, here they are! (Links in the title–sometimes they lead to my review first!)

If you liked This Mortal Coil, then you’ll love Devils Unto Dust!

I know you’re looking at me like I’m crazy–dystopian science-fiction similar to western apocalyptic horror? Never!

But there’s a relationship, and if you stare closely at the covers, you’ll see. *cough*IT’S THE BLOODY MIST*cough*

That’s right–both feature really spine-chilling tales of infected people and disease and zombie-adjacent infections and it’s hella freaky. They’re both a little gory (I mean–you’ve seen Emma’s Twitter profile picture, right?) and a whole lot of fun with their grim worlds of infection.

And both deal a little with science, although one obviously more than the other, and I can’t spoil things for you, but know that there’s a relationship and you definitely want to check out Emma Berquist’s Devil Unto Dust if you like the whole people-blowing-up-into-plumes-of-infectious-mist from Emily Suvada’s This Mortal Coil!

If you liked The Price Guide to the Occult, you’ll love The Wicked Deep!

Yes, I swear there’s more of a connection besides the obvious eerie, Pacific Northwest atmosphere setting. (Although you’ve gotta admit, both authors make the PNW absolutely spine-chilling and atmospheric!)

I mean, first off, WITCHES. We love witches–good, bad, morally gray, and everything in between. The witches honestly just add to the atmosphere in both of these.

But even further than that, the main characters in each (no spoilers though!) struggle with right and wrong and I really enjoyed this about both books! Plus, once again, both atomspheres are top notch and bound to get you in the mood for the spooky season!

I definitely recommend both of these as they were both 4.5 star reads for me! (Also, look at the gorgeous covers!)

If you liked Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, you’ll love Strange Grace!

Okay, I admit that I actually haven’t read either of these, and my recommendation could be totally off on this (so if you wanna corroborate/deny this correlation, please let me know! I could use all the input!).

But both of them mention devils, so that’s already a good start to a solid correlation! And they both weave romance and horror together into what’s hopefully a chilling combination!

I’m definitely very excited to read both of these and they look like they have an amazing atmosphere as a backdrop of an enticing plot!

If you liked Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, then you’ll love A Room Away from the Wolves!

I thought my comparison between Miss Peregrine’s and The Dark Beneath the Ice was good, but really, I should have done Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and A Room Away From the Wolves.

Because Suma’s novel has so many similar elements–the mysterious home for girls vs. mysterious home for peculiar children, strange happenings throughout the home, and a chilling contemporary atmosphere!

Both books feel very measured in the way Riggs and Suma plot the novels out, and I really like how you can tell the plotting and deliberation that went into all aspects of each book, which is ultimately why I made this comparison! The writing styles felt similar to me, and I definitely enjoyed both of them!

If you liked The Sandcastle Empire, you’ll love Sawkill Girls!

Okay, so I haven’t had a chance to pick up Sawkill Girls yet, but both The Sandcastle Empire and Sawkill Girls take place on an island, so that’s already one solid correlation…right?

Fine. You don’t believe me? Then how about how both are very atmospheric–one in a you’re-gonna-die tropical-island near-future dystopia, and the other in a wooded monsters-are-hiding-in-the-forest island fantasy! Both are super cool atmospheres and chilling enough to get you in the mood for Halloween!

And then also the theme of girls fighting back! Like, omg yes I am here for this female action! I adored all the female power in The Sandcastle Empire, and am sure Sawkill Girls will also pull through with strong female protagonists!

much love, vicky

Also, check out The Dark Beneath the Ice (which I’ve actually referenced in one of my August 2018 post) and Not Even Bones & What the Woods Keep (from my September 2018 post)!

Which spooky books do you love & are excited for?

Advertisements

12 thoughts on “If You Liked #9: Spooky Edition!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s