If You Liked… #7: August 2018 Edition

It’s the last Monday of the month and you know what that means: personalized book recommendations!

Today’s post is filled with books from all sorts of genres, from thriller and mystery to coming of age to historical to sci-fi to paranormal. There’s something here that every reader will love!

On the right hand side are the August 2018 new releases that I wanted to feature (it was so hard just picking 5!) and on the left are the older (most are actually pretty recent) books that are similar!

As always, the recommendations work both ways so I definitely recommend you check one out if you liked the other! Enjoy these new books to fall in love with!

(I’ve also read every single book on this list, so I feel proud knowing I brought you accurate recommendations!)

If you liked Dive Smack, you’ll love Hidden Pieces!

I feel a little awkward making this comparison when Dive Smack released so recently, but I also just felt like the similarities between the books are so strong.

Even though they have a lot of differences–different narrator genders, different thrilling issues, I felt like the way they thrilled the reader was very much the same.

There’s some mysterious force doing something (blackmailing in Hidden Pieces, messing with Theo’s life in general in Dive Smack) that really felt like it was present in both books. And the reveals of these mysterious force characters are so intense that I can’t help but draw connections between the two novels!

I think if you loved Dive Smack *cough*CHRISTY JANE*cough*, you need to check out Hidden Pieces!

Check out my review of Dive Smack and Hidden Pieces here and here!

If you liked Empress of a Thousand Skies, you’ll love Mirage!

I feel like Empress of a Thousand Skies and Mirage are similar in both elements of the premise and the writing style.

Even though Empress of a Thousand Skies is techier and features more ~science~, I felt like the idea that there are oppressed nationalities really related to the conquered peoples in Mirage. Plus, there are princesses and all sorts of courtly deceit in both books, so if these are elements you enjoyed in either book, you might want to check out the other!

And the writing style just felt very similar to me. I think both of these stories are different in the way that they are very measured and concious of their words as the story is told, and it really shows through in the novel.

So if you liked the writing style or some thematic elements in either novels, definitely take a peek at the summary of the other!

Check out my review of Empress of a Thousand Skies here!

If you liked Stalking Jack the Ripper, you’ll love Girl at the Grave!

I’ve probably screamed about this similarity a dozen times, but seriously, if you’re a Stalking Jack the Ripper fan, Girl at the Grave is the closest thing you can get.

They have so many shared characteristics: historical fiction (Gothic/Victorian in London & America respectively), murder mysteries, swoony romances with eligible bachelors…

Yet they’re both distinct and have very different mysteries. Girl at the Grave has importance in what happened during past events and what Valentine thought happened with her mother, while Stalking Jack the Ripper is a little more focused in the present.

Both are good, and although their premises are similar, they have very unique storylines that are different enough that you can enjoy the same type of story without feeling like you’ve read this before!

Check out my review of Girl at the Grave here!

If you liked The Astonishing Color of After, you’ll love Darius the Great Is Not Okay!

At first I thought I was crazy when I wrote up this connection. But hear me out.

Even though The Astonishing Color of After is much more fantastical, both of these books are so similar.

Both Darius and Leigh share this sense of not belonging that many multicultural teens feel–they’re not quite American and not quite Persian or Taiwanese, respectively.  Neither Darius nor Leigh can speak the language of their family’s country, but they’re still living and experiencing that country for the short while they are there. They both forge connections with their family members during their stay and discover things about themselves that they hadn’t known.

Even though these books look different, at their core, they are so very similar in that experience multicultural teens have as they come of age. I stand by this comparison wholeheartedly as both are moving coming of age novels imbued with culture that I definitely recommend.

Check out my review of The Astonishing Color of After and Darius the Great Is Not Okay here and here!

If you liked Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, you’ll love The Dark Beneath the Ice!

Where the last comparison was the most solid on the list, this is the most shaky.

Because honestly, not a lot of things compare to Amelinda Berube’s wonderful The Dark Beneath the Ice. It’s spooky and paranormal and filled with ghost-like beings. But I feel like Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children makes a good comparison as it also deals with the weird and unusual and potentially monstrous.

To me, Miss Peregrine’s seems darker while The Dark Beneath the Ice seems chillier. Like, so many people have talked about how scary The Dark Beneath the Ice (and the ghost is truly chilling), while Miss Peregrine’s is regularly described as dark and a little odd.

So although these aren’t a perfect match, I do think if you like one, there’s a good chance you’ll like the other just for its chilliness or dark nature.

Check out my review of The Dark Beneath the Ice here!

much love, vicky

What books do you want similar title recommendations for? Maybe I can feature them in the next edition of If You Liked…!

2 thoughts on “If You Liked… #7: August 2018 Edition

  1. I recently read and really enjoyed Mirage and Empress of a Thousand Skies has been on my TBR, I guess I should check it out! I also love your pairing of Darius with The Astonishing Color -both are books I am REALLY excited to read, hopefully soon, sooo… I’m glad they are both similar with themes that I love 🙂
    Lovely post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh, you should! It’s a little more actiony, but very similar in a lot of ways.

      YOU TOTALLY HAVE TO PICK THEM UP! their themes are really similar even if some of the conceptuals and culture parts are different. Glad I could send new book recs your way! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.