If You Liked… #6: July 2018 SFF Edition

Last recommendation post of the month? You know it.

This week, we’re featuring a bunch of July 2018 releases and some comp titles so you can find what works for you! And 4 of these are sci-fi novels and the other’s fantasy, so if you’re in the mood for some action and fast-paced fiction, you’re in luck!

This has been such an awesome science fiction month and I’m so excited to share all of these recommendations with you! As always, they work both ways so if you’ve read & liked the July release, then check out the backlist one!

I haven’t read the July book for the last two recommendations, but I’m very excited for each and definitely cannot wait to get my hands on them! Without further ado, here’s the first one!

If you liked LIFEL1K3, you might love Hullmetal Girls!

If I’m going to start with something, why not with a bang?

Hullmetal Girls is probably the most controversial book on the list, but I had to include it because it had so many similarities with LIFEL1K3 and I personally found the controversial aspects to be not controversial.

This book has so much sci-fi body horror and it features cyborg, enhanced soldiers (like LIFEL1K3!) and all sorts of actiony goodness. If you loved how much action there was in LIFEL1K3, you’ll probably love all the action in this book too!

It has a super diverse cast and a bunch of twists and turns (and action scenes!) that will keep you on the tips of your toes throughout the entire journey.

If you liked Unearthed, you might love Sanctuary!

I’m not going to spoil the ending of Unearthed for you, but let’s just say that it shares a lot of similarities with some of the vicious aliens in Sanctuary.

If you like books with aliens, corporations, and a healthy dose of mystery, I definitely recommend you check out both of these books! Sanctuary has cool superpower teens on a space station that serves as a prison for said teens, while Unearthed is like an otherworldly Indiana Jones with all the mysterious booby traps…

You should definitely add these to your TBR if you’re looking for some horror, aliens, and mystery, because both will pull through on all three of those aspects!

If you liked Of Fire and Stars, you might love Grace and Fury!

This was probably the hardest and least accurate comparison on the list.

But it’s so hard to find something to compare to Grace and Fury because nothing comparesGrace and Fury is a fierce, feminist fantasy that works on overthrowing the patriarchy in a medieval world. That is something that’s extremely rare in this subset of the fantasy genre.

The closest thing I could come up with is Of Fire and Stars with its fierce female protagonists going on a journey and falling in love. It might not be the same patriarchal overthrow, but these girls succeed in defying the patriarchy in their own way, which is just as wonderful.

So if you’re a fan of Of Fire and Stars, I definitely recommend you pick up Grace and Fury because it might become your new favorite read!

If you liked This Mortal Coil, you might love Contagion!

Looking for some deadly viruses? Well, these books have you covered.

In This Mortal Coil, Hydra is definitely something to be scared of. You don’t want to blow up in a giant plume of bloody vapor, do you? And the virus in Contagion, as mysterious as it is, seems equally devastating after hearing about the dead workers on the foreign planet.

There’s a healthy dose of mystery in each, and their twists will probably shock you along the way, if you’re not shocked enough by the deadly viruses. I definitely recommend you check out each of these books if you liked the others because they share similar elements but seem to keep their own unique stories to them! Sounds absolutely amazing (and This Mortal Coil has my stamp of approval.)

If you liked Dare Mighty Things, you might love The Loneliest Girl in the Universe!

Last one! This one is also a bit of a stretch, and part of that is because of the Really Huge Mystery in The Loneliest Girl in the Universe that is hinted at by the summary, but never stated (unless you read the book!)

And I wasn’t going to go spoil myself by reading reviews, so I went with my gut feeling on this one. Dare Mighty Things has things like mysterious [redacted] and competition aspects and being shot out into space with only a couple other people and no other teens. The fate awaiting Cassandra in the vast expanse of space seems pretty lonely to me.

And Romy, out in space, all alone, sound pretty damn lonely to me. Everyone on her crew has died and she’s the only one out there to colonize the planet she’s heading towards. Mysterious messages from Earth, communication with someone named J, and a whole lot of other unknows will make this read a wild ride.

I don’t know how accurate this comp is, but my gut says what my gut says, and I’m excited to see if it’s true after I read The Loneliest Girl in the Universe!

much love, vicky

Which of these books are you excited for? Do you think my comps are accurate?

6 thoughts on “If You Liked… #6: July 2018 SFF Edition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.