If You Liked… #1

If You Liked… is a new type of blog post I’m starting that gives book recommendation based on other books! I’m going to try to limit my suggestions to include a new book and an old book in each suggestion, but they work both ways and so if you’ve read the old book but haven’t read the new book, no worries!

Hopefully I’ll keep up this recommendation post once a month at the end of each month and you all will get lots of lovely book suggestions based on old favorites!

Without further ado, here are the first five!

If you liked Cinder, you’ll love Heart of Iron!

Are you a hardcore sci-fi lover like myself? Then you’ve probably heard of or read Cinder by Marissa Meyer before. It’s one of my faves with cyborgs and romance and evil queens and moon colonies, all based around Cinderella and other fairytale stories.

Well then, you should definitely check out Ashley Poston’s Heart of Iron (our Feb. 27th! full review here) because it’s got a lot of elements that were present in Cinder (mechs, lost princess, romance, ensemble casts, space!) as well as its own unique spin on the Anastasia storyline. It’s such a fantastic read, and I totally would recommend if you were one who enjoyed Meyer’s Cinder.

Run, don’t walk.

If you liked The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, you’ll love A Million Junes!

Although I wasn’t the hugest fan of Walton’s The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender (full review here), I still enjoyed a lot of the themes, especially those about grief and the magical aspects of the book and the lyrical writing.

Henry’s A Million Junes (full review here) basically took all my favorite parts of TSABSOAL and made it into something absolutely amazing. It was much more focused and went on tangents less than TSABSOAL did, while also having a very good portrayal of grief (totally made me cry) and also one of those rare cases when I really enjoyed the romance.

Seriously, you should definitely go check out A Million Junes if you’re a fan of beautiful writing, magical aspects, and themes about grief.

If you liked The Wrath and the Dawn, you’ll love The City of Brass!

There have been so many fantastic Middle Eastern-based fantasies in the past couple of years, and The City of Brass is one of the latest that has now been added to the list. Great for fans of novels like The Wrath and The DawnA Thousand NightsAn Ember in the Ashes, and Rebel of the Sands, Chakraborty’s debut is a spell-binding adventure that’s sure to entertain you!

It’s got magic, it’s got romance, it’s got djinn and spirits and girls going on adventures. If this sounds like something you like, then you should definitely check out The City of Brass (full review here)!

Throne of Glass, try Mask of Shadows!

Alright, I know both of these books have mixed responses from people (I disliked Throne of Glass, I loved Mask of Shadows) but they’re similar in a lot of ways that will make each book appeal to lovers of the other even though Mask of Shadows is clearly better.

Do you like assassins and romance and subtle magic and worldly politics with royalty? Because that’s in both of these novels. Throne of Glass is a little more “gritty” as in it feels like an uncut diamond and the world is sort of dusty and full of grime (even though not all of it is) while Mask of Shadows feels more clean-cut and sleek as I read it. Obviously, they have their differences (ToG love triangle, MoS gender fluid MC) but I think you should definitely give the other a shot if you liked one of them!

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, try I Believe in a Thing Called Love!

Korean American FMC? Check! Cute, romcom-y romance? Check! All sorts of Pinterest-y aesthetics and cuteness? Check!

Maurene Goo and Jenny Han are complete queens at writing YA contemporary romance with diverse leads. If you liked one, then you’re probably going to like the other. Although To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is less humorous and romcom-y and more full-blown romantic when compared to the flailures of Desi in I Believe in a Thing Called Love, I think they’re both great series for anyone looking for something romantic and sweet and overall a feel-good sort of read (with awesome representation)!

much love, vicky

Have you read any of these novels? What books would you recommend to people who like CinderThe Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava LavenderThe Wrath and the DawnThrone of Glass, and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before?

 

6 thoughts on “If You Liked… #1

  1. OK first, I LOVE YOUR BLOG, second I LOVE THIS POST!!!! I just added some of these books to my TBR, luckily I already own some of these😍 ! I loved Herat of Iron, it was SO GOOD and I really can’t wait to read the second one! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AWWW THANK YOU SO MUCH <333 you should totally check them out–they're all fantastic reads! And yesssss HOI was SO GOOD AHH

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.